City of Peterborough 2022 municipal election logo

Nomination Period Open for Filing

Nomination period extends from May 2 to August 19, 2022 at 2 p.m. Due to COVID-19, nominations will be received by appointment. To schedule an appointment to file a nomination, please email election2022@peterborough.ca

 Key Dates

Nomination Period:

May 2 to August 19, 2022

Voting Day:

Monday, October 24, 2022 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. 

Term of current Council ends:

November 15, 2022

Advance voting opportunities: 

Saturday October 8, 15 and 22, 2022 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Ward 1: Healthy Planet Arena, 911 Monaghan Rd.
  • Ward 2: Westdale United Church, 1509 Sherbrooke St.
  • Ward 3: Peterborough Public Library, 345 Aylmer St. N.
  • Ward 4: Lions Club, 347 Burnham St.
  • Ward 5: Northview Community Church, 1000 Fairbairn St.

Internet voting:

Internet voting begins October 1, 2022. 

Advance Accessible Voting:

October 17 to 21, 2022 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

City Hall, 500 George St. N.

Election Maps

Visit our interactive What's My Ward map to determine which ward you reside in. There is an address search feature at the top right side of the map. Type in your address, or drop a pin in the map to find your ward. For descriptions of ward boundaries, visit our Voters page.

Ward Maps

City Ward Map

Otonabee Ward 1

Monaghan Ward 2

Town Ward 3

Ashburnham Ward 4

Northcrest Ward 5

Poll Series Maps

Ward 1 Poll Series Map

Ward 2 Poll Series Map

Ward 3 Poll Series Map

Ward 4 Poll Series Map

Ward 5 Poll Series Map


Working the Election

Are you interested in working the 2022 Municipal and School Board election? The City is currently accepting applications from customer-focused individuals. Election staff will be assigned to work at a voting location on Election Day, Monday October 24, 2022. Please see the Election Staff page for more information.

Third party advertising

A third party advertisement is any broadcast, print or digital ad that supports or opposes a candidate or a “yes” or “no” vote on a question on the ballot. The Municipal Elections Act provides a framework for the registration and financial filing of third party advertising.

Third parties may register with the Clerk’s office from May 2 to October 21, 2022 and must register prior to raising or spending any money in relation to election advertising. For more information please see the following guides:

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Third Party Advertiser's Guide 

City of Peterborough Third Party Advertiser's Guide


Who can register as a third party advertiser?

Corporations and unions are not permitted to make contributions to candidates. Individuals, corporations and trade unions must register as third party advertisers in the municipality where they want to advertise. If they want to advertise in more than one municipality, they have to register in each municipality. Third party advertising must be
done independently of candidates. Candidates are not able to register as third party advertisers or direct any third party advertiser.

Third parties may register with the Clerk’s office from May 2 to October 21, 2022 and must register prior to raising or spending any money in relation to election advertising.

What is not considered third party advertising?
Advertising that does not cost money to post or broadcast, such as comments made on social media, are not considered to be third party advertising. Third party advertising does not include issues-based advertising; groups that do public outreach can continue their issued-based advocacy work throughout the municipal election period.
Spending limits for third party advertisers

Under the Municipal Elections Act, third party advertisers will be subject to a spending limit that varies by the number of electors in the municipality in which the third party advertiser is registered. O. Reg. 101/97 identifies the following formula for calculating third party spending limits: $5,000 plus $0.05 per elector, to a maximum of $25,000. 

Interim registered third party expense limits will be calculated based on the List of Electors as it existed on September 15, 2018. Final registered third party expenses will be calculated using the number of eligible electors on the List of Electors as it exists on September 15, 2022. Registered third parties may spend to a maximum of whichever calculation is higher.

Interim spending limit for registered third parties
Type of advertisingEligible electorsInterim spending limit

Third party



Spending limits for campaign appreciation events

Under O. Reg. 101/97 of the Municipal Elections Act, third party advertisers will have a spending limit for parties and other expressions of appreciation after Election Day, to be set at ten percent of the third party spending limit. 


2018 Election

The 2018 election results report breaks down the results, including voter turnout, methods of voting, and a ward-by-ward look at the results. There were 28,030 votes cast in the 2018 election, with 47% of the votes cast with paper ballots and 41% of the votes cast by Internet voting. The Declaration of Election Results gives a simple candidate-by-candidate reporting of the election results.

Compliance reporting for the 2018 Election

The Election Compliance Report identifies which candidates have complied with the requirements for filing their financial statements.

Compliance Audit Committee

The Compliance Audit Committee receives and makes decisions on applications for compliance audits of campaign finances for Council candidates and registered third party advertisers in a municipal election.

The Committee's responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

  • Reviewing applications and granting or rejecting audit requests
  • When an audit is granted, they will choose an auditor and review the auditor's report
  • Decide if legal action is needed

Compliance Audit Committee members

  • Sylvia Sutherland
  • Robert Fisher
  • Dave McFadden
  • Mauro DiCarlo
  • Steven Brickell
  • Brian Horton

For more information about the Compliance Audit Committee's scope of responsibilities, please contact the City Clerk's Office to request a copy of the Compliance Audit Committee Terms of Reference.

You can submit an application in regards to a candidate's or third party advertiser's financial statement.

Campaign financial statements

The filing deadline was 2 p.m. on March 29, 2019.

Office of Mayor

Bennett, Daryl

Green, Cameron (Withdrew - did not appear on ballot)

Therrien, Diane

Office of Councillor Ward 1 (Otonabee)

Grills, Brock

Hall, Bob

Parnell, Lesley

Wallwork, Jason Andrew

Waudby, Ryan

Zippel, Kim

Office of Councillor Ward 2 (Monaghan)

Clarke, Henry

Magumbe, Charmaine

McGowan, Dave

Vassiliadis, Don

Westlake, Jeff

Office of Councillor Ward 3 (Town)

Akapo, Kemi

Davidson, Jane

Lanciault, Jenny

Pappas, Dean

Russell, Jim

Office of Councillor Ward 4 (Ashburnham)

Baldwin, Gary

Peddle, Ian Russell

Rellinger, Paul

Riel, Keith

Wood, Sheila

Office of Councillor Ward 5 (Northcrest)

Beamer, Andrew

Haacke, Dave

Hatton, Zach - Non-Compliance - Statement not filed by deadline. Candidate in Default as per Section  88.23(1)(a).

Wright, Stephen

Office of Trustee - Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board

Bonner, Wayne

Hildebrand, Dennis

Kitney, Rose

Russell, Steve

Office of Trustee - Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board

Leal, Braden

McCarthy, Helen

Moran, Monica (Withdrew - did not appear on ballot)

Financial Statements for the Conseil Scolaire Viamonde and Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir boards were filed with the City of Oshawa, where the candidates registered.

Third party advertisers financial statements

The filing deadline was 2:00 p.m. on March 29, 2019.

Latest news on the 2022 municipal election

Loading News Feed...