The City of Peterborough has several legislated and advisory committees that provide input and guidance on the provision of municipal services and programs for our community. Below you'll find brief descriptions of these legislated and advisory committees of Council as well as links to their connected areas in our website. You can see the schedules and agendas of these meetings on our Agendas and Minutes page.

Are you interested in becoming a member of a board or committee? When vacancies occur, we advertise the opportunity and request interested citizens to complete the Application for Citizen Appointment to City Board, Commission or Committee. The application will be posted on this page when we're accepting submissions.

Peterborough Public Library Board

Peterborough Public Library

Established under the Public Libraries Act, the Board governs Peterborough Public Library, creates policy and ensures financial accountability. Through an understanding of the community and a strong relationship with City Council, the Board advocates for the Library as a whole and ensures that it has clear goals and objectives for meeting community needs.

The Board consists of the following members:

  • Councillor Kemi Akapo
  • Councillor Henry Clarke
  • Amy Bowen
  • Leigh McEachran
  • Dan Moloney
  • Gillian Sandeman
  • Leslie Woolcott
  • Barb Connor (Friends of the Library Foundation)
  • Jayne White (Library Foundation Board representative)

Accessibility Advisory Committee

The Accessibility Advisory Committee (AAC) advises and assists Council and staff in promoting and facilitating accessible City goods, services and facilities. This is achieved through the review of municipal policies, programs and services and the identification, removal and prevention of barriers faced by people with disabilities. The Committee also oversees the utilization of the City's Access Fund through a formal application and reporting process. The Committee is a requirement of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005.

The Committee is made up of the following members:

  • Councillor Henry Clarke
  • Lynda Staples
  • Tom Street
  • Erica Richmond
  • Don Parnell
  • Amanda Motyer
  • Andrea Walsh
  • Ben McColl
  • Sioux Lily

The AAC has established two sub-committees to deal specifically with matters pertaining to the Built Environment and Transportation.

Built Environment Sub-Committee members:

  • Amanda Motyer, Chair
  • Sioux Lily
  • Andrea Dodsworth
  • Jeff Chalmers
  • Lynda Staples
  • Neil Campbell
  • Janet Dawson
  • Leanne Carpenter
  • Alison Seiderer

Transportation Sub-Committee members:

  • Don Parnell, Chair
  • Janet Ali
  • Marie Bongard
  • Andrea Dodsworth
  • Anne Trudel-Inglis
  • Lynn Morris
  • John Morris
  • Warren Northcott
  • Leanne Carpenter
  • Marty Morgan
  • Peter Bascan

Committee of Adjustment

The Committee of Adjustment makes decisions on whether to permit a minor variance application. For the Committee to approve a minor variance application it must:

  • Be minor;
  • Be desirable for the appropriate development or use;
  • Maintain the general intent and purpose of the Zoning By-law; and
  • Maintain the general intent and purpose of the Official Plan.

City Council appoints the five members of the Committee in accordance with the Planning Act.

The Committee meets monthly, as outlined in the 2019 schedule. Prior to each meeting, a notice of request is sent out to neighbouring property owners and commenting bodies. A Planner prepares a staff report and recommendations for the Committee. The report outlines municipal policies and input received in response to a Notice of Hearing.

Peterborough Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee

Appointed by Council under the terms of the Ontario Heritage Act, the Peterborough Architectural Conservation Advisory Committee provides recommendations for the conservation of heritage buildings, sites and resources. The Committee advises City Council on the protection of the City's built, natural and cultural heritage.

The Committee consists of the following members:

  • Councillor Henry Clarke
  • Stewart Hamilton, Chair
  • Jacqueline Irwin
  • Dennis Carter-Edwards
  • Jayne Spearin
  • Martin Parker
  • James Bradburn
  • Ivan Bateman
  • Paul Lumsden (Peterborough Historical Society representative)

Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Committee

The Arts, Culture and Heritage Advisory Committee was created to monitor and guide the implementation of the Municipal Cultural Plan and to advise Council and City departments on arts, cultural and heritage matters related to broader planning and capital project initiatives.

The following have been appointed to the Committee:

  • Councillor Andrew Beamer
  • Councillor Keith Riel
  • Ryan Kemp
  • Jeff Macklin
  • Sarah McNeilly
  • Justin Million
  • Michael Stringer
  • Jeannine Taylor
  • Su Ditta (EC3 representative)

Arenas, Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

The Arenas, Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee was established to advise and support the Arenas, Public Works and Recreation Divisions on matters relating to arenas, parks, urban forestry, horticulture, open spaces, recreational use of trails, and recreational facilities, programs and services.

The Committee consists of the following members:

  • Councillor Kim Zippel
  • Councillor Lesley Parnell
  • Diane Sargent, Chair
  • Glen Payne
  • Ashley Matheson
  • Pete Dalliday
  • Stephen MacDougall

Joint Services Steering Committee

The Joint Services Steering Committee is made up of three County Councillors and three City Councillors. The responsibilities of this Committee are reviewing and approval of draft budgets and annual work plans, which are then forwarded to the Council s of the County and City for final approval for service delivery management for Provincial Offences, Ontario Works, Child Care and Social Housing and Paramedic Services.

Joint Services Steering Committee members
City of Peterborough AppointeesCounty of Peterborough Appointees

Mayor Diane Therrien

Warden J. Murray Jones

Councillor Andrew Beamer

Deputy Warden Andy Mitchell

Councillor Dean Pappas

Councillor Jim Martin

Councillor Keith Riel

Councillor Scott McFadden

Waste Management Committee

The Waste Management Committee consists of three City Councillors and three County Councillors. Their mandate is to review, discuss and provide direction on the joint waste management programs and operations, in particular, the County-City Waste Management Facility.

Waste Management Committee members
City of Peterborough AppointeesCounty of Peterborough Appointees

Councillor Gary Baldwin

Councillor Rodger Bonneau

Councillor Don Vassiliadis

Councillor Sherry Senis

Councillor Kemi Akapo

Councillor Jim Martin

Museum and Archives Advisory Committee

The Museum and Archives Advisory Committee was established to advise Council and the Arts, Culture and Heritage Division in respect of the management and regulation of the Peterborough Museum & Archives.

The following are members of the Committee:

  • Councillor Lesley Parnell
  • Claude Dufresne
  • Debbie Flieler
  • Ann Sullivan
  • Karen Carter-Edwards
  • Gayle McIntyre (Sir Sandford Fleming College representative)
  • Jodi Aoki (Trent University Archives representative)
  • Linda Lumsden (PHS representative)

Peterborough Environmental Advisory Committee

The Peterborough Environmental Advisory Committee is a committee established in 2019 by Council to provide advice on environmental matters. 

Councillor Kim Zippel is the Council member assigned to this committee.