Accessibility Advisory Committee

Cenotaph

The Accessibility Advisory Committee gives Council advice on how to make the City of Peterborough more accessible for everyone. The Committee also oversees the utilization of the City's Access Fund through a formal application and reporting process; and provides suggestions on how our trails, transit, walkways, and sidewalks can be more accessible.

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 requires municipalities that have a population over 10,000 to establish a local Accessibility Advisory Committee. The majority of the members must be people with disabilities.

The Accessibility Advisory Committee has one sub-committee, the Built Environment Sub-Committee. This Sub-Committee looks at our projects and site plans and gives us suggestions on how they can be more accessible. 

Accessibility Advisory Committee minutes and agendas are available on the Council Calendar

Accessible playground

Meeting schedule

Accessibility Advisory Committee

4:00 p.m. City Hall Doris Room

  • Wednesday, January 8, 2020
  • Wednesday, February 5, 2020
  • Wednesday, March 4, 2020
  • Wednesday, April 1, 2020
  • Wednesday, May 6, 2020
  • Wednesday, June 3, 2020
  • Wednesday, September 9, 2020
  • Wednesday, October 7, 2020
  • Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Minutes and agendas are available on the Council Calendar. Accommodations available upon request.

Built Environment Sub-Committee

3:30 p.m. City Hall Doris Room

  • Tuesday, January 21, 2020
  • Tuesday, February 18, 2020
  • Tuesday, March 17, 2020
  • Tuesday, April 21, 2020
  • Tuesday, May 19, 2019
  • Tuesday, June 16, 2020
  • Tuesday, September 15, 2020
  • Tuesday, October 20, 2020
  • Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Current Accessibility Advisory Committee members

  • Amanda Motyer, Chair
  • Sioux Lily, Vice Chair, Built Environment Sub-Committee Chair
  • Councillor Henry Clarke, City of Peterborough Councillor Representative
  • Dave Hurley, Board Member
  • Don Parnell, Board Member
  • Phil Mechetuk, Board Member
  • Ben McColl, Board Member
  • Barb Munro, Board Member
  • Tom Street, Board Member
  • Mark Buffone, Staff – Accessibility Compliance Coordinator