Accessibility Advisory Committee


The Accessibility Advisory Committee gives Council advice on how to make the City of Peterborough more accessible for everyone. The Committee also oversees the utilization of the City's Access Fund through a formal application and reporting process; and provides suggestions on how our trails, transit, walkways, and sidewalks can be more accessible.

Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 requires municipalities that have a population over 10,000 to establish a local Accessibility Advisory Committee. The majority of the members must be people with disabilities.

The Accessibility Advisory Committee has one sub-committee, the Built Environment Sub-Committee. This Sub-Committee looks at our projects and site plans and gives us suggestions on how they can be more accessible. 

Accessibility Advisory Committee minutes and agendas are available on the Council Calendar

Accessible playground

Meeting schedule

Accessibility Advisory Committee

Electronic meeting starts at 4 p.m. on:

  • Wednesday, March 3, 2021
  • Wednesday, April 7, 2021
  • Wednesday, May 5, 2021
  • Wednesday, June 2, 2021
  • Wednesday, September 8, 2021
  • Wednesday, October 6, 2021
  • Wednesday, November 3, 2021

Minutes and agendas are available on the City Council Meetings page. Individuals wishing to listen to any meeting must contact the Clerk's Office at 705-742-7777 ext. 1820. You will be provided with a toll free number and conference ID to enable you to listen to the meeting by telephone. 

Accommodations are available upon request.

Built Environment Sub-Committee

Proposed 2021 schedule

Electronic meetings start at 3:30 p.m. on:

  • Tuesday, March 17, 2021
  • Tuesday, April 20, 2021
  • Tuesday, May 18, 2021
  • Tuesday, June 15, 2021
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 19, 2021
  • Tuesday, November 16, 2021

Current Accessibility Advisory Committee members

  • Amanda Motyer, Chair
  • Sioux Lily Dickson, Vice Chair, Built Environment Sub-Committee Chair
  • Councillor Henry Clarke, City of Peterborough Council Representative
  • Dave Hurley, Board Member
  • Don Parnell, Board Member
  • Phil Mechetuk, Board Member
  • Barb Munro, Board Member
  • Camila Duarte, Board Member
  • Sarah Hurley, Board Member

Staff representatives

  • Mark Buffone – Accessibility Compliance Coordinator, City of Peterborough
  • Sarah Mackillican – Communications Coordinator, City of Peterborough

Built Environment Sub-Committee Document Review Portal